A New chapter

I am very aware of the fact it’s been a long stretch of time since I wrote anything here, but I’m hoping there is still some value in my words and people might want to read them.

I was horrified when I realised that 2 years have flown since my last blog, and although I know I’m not particularly regular, that seems kind of ridiculous to me. On reflection, I realised I had stopped making space to write. Other part of life flowed into the room I had for my writing, and without noticing it shrivelled up and so did my inspiration. I have only written 3 poems in the last 9 months until very recently, and I know that writing is part of who I am, so here I am back making some time and space for the creative outlet that has sustained me since I was a child.

It’s been a busy 2 years with house moves, relationship changes, county changes, new jobs, and the shift to being parent to an adult. My daughter is now 19 and about to embark on her university years. I find it astonishing to think I have an adult child but here we are- time for me to remember I’m not 25 anymore! As life continues to change I’m struck by how easy it is to fill spaces up with things that don’t serve us, and loose sight of the meaningful things in our lives. It can be difficult to siphon out what is just habit and what is a core part of our authentic selves to really know what to keep and what to let go of, but sometimes things you have let go of you need back. For me writing is one such thing, as is the ability and desire to help heal others.

In my former life (feels like many lifetimes ago now!) I ran a complementary therapy business which helped so many people with stress, physical ailments, supported their mental health, helped them feel vital or relaxed. I volunteered at a cancer centre every fortnight and did treatments for free for patients and their carers- still to this day one of the most rewarding and humbling things I’ve ever done. I have realised over the past few months that I miss this intensely. I work in a pretty corporate area of work these days, and whilst that has its own challenges and satisfactions, it doesn’t give me the real sense of purpose that my therapy work did. So, whilst I’m not leaving the rat race any time soon (bills to pay and child off to uni!) I am planning and building a new business in the background to run around my day job. I have done a reiki course which I’ve always wanted to do and will be building on, I am currently doing a coaching qualification, and I have lots of plans drafted, ready to grow and implement.

I am so excited to be able to help people again in a slightly different way, and return to my holistic therapy roots a little, and of course returning to writing! There is a 2nd poetry book in the planning stage and I am setting myself a realistic deadline to have it out by Christmas rather than put huge pressure on myself unnecessarily and not deliver, then feel crappy about myself for it. I have started to be able to write a bit again, and feel like the creative juices are also returning. Or maybe it’s just a bit more of me returning, who knows.

Wherever you are in life, whether it’s part way through your story, starting a new page, or trying to find ways to end a sentence, I hope you find joy in life, and most importantly that you remember to hold on to your true self.

Much love

Nia x

Leave a comment